of five persons, consisting of the general manager of the government railways as chairman, two persons appointed by the Minister of Railways and Canals from amongst the chief officers of the government railways, and two persons elected annually by the employees contributing to the fund.

It was enacted by the Saskatchewan and Alberta Acts of 1905 that upon completion of the quinquennial census of 1906 Parliamentthe parliamentary representation in the House of Commons of ary representhese two provinces should forthwith be so readjusted by the katchewan Parliament of Canada that there should be assigned to each and Alberta. province such a number of members as would bear the same proportion to the number of its population as the number 65 bears to the population of Quebec, as ascertained at the last decennial census. At the quinquennial census of 1906 the population of Saskatchewan was returned as 257,763 and that of Alberta as 185,412, the population of the province of Quebec having been returned at the decennial census of 1901 as 1,648,-898. Accordingly, after dissolution of the present Parliament, instead of ten members for the two provinces together, Saskatchewan will become entitled to ten members and Alberta to seven members. Chapter 41 of the statutes of 1907 provides for the readjustment of the parliamentary representation of Saskatchewan and Alberta in accordance with the above-mentioned enactments. Also it repeals the provision constituting the ten electoral districts of the two provinces as scheduled in the Representation Act, R. S. 1906, ch. 5, and substitutes therefor ten electoral districts in Saskatchewan consisting of Battleford, Humboldt, Mackenzie, Moosejaw, Assiniboia, Prince Albert, Regina, Saltcoats, Saskatoon and Qu'Appelle, and seven electoral districts in Alberta consisting of Calgary, Edmonton, Macleod, Medicine Hat, Red Deer, Strathcona and Victoria. The boundaries of these electoral districts are specifically defined in the act.

By chapter 25 provision is made for the appointment of an other puisné judge of the court of king's bench, Manitoba' Provision for thus making three puisné judges of this court, each with a salary additional of \$6,000 per annum, instead of two as enacted by the Judges judges: Mani-Act, R. S. 1906, ch. 138. This act is also amended by providing for the appointment of an additional county court judge for Manitoba, making altogether seven county court judges for the province, each with a salary of \$2,500 per annum and of \$3,000 per annum after three years of service.

In British Columbia provision is made for the appointment of eleven judges and junior judges of county courts, each with a British salary of \$3,000 per annum, instead of ten county court judges Columbia; in the province as heretofore.

Chapter 45 amends the statute law in its application to the provinces of Saskatchewan and Alberta, and enacts also that Saskatchewan instead of seven puisné judges of the supreme court of the and Alberta.

 $B_{\overline{2}}$  Y.B.